Because not everyone is Elite

As you may or not know I was made redundant by my previous job managing communication projects at Exeter University Students’ Guild but now I have found out 4 months on that not only was I replaced a week after I was shown the door, but they broke the law how they did it too.

 
Based on British Law they have to consult with employees first and not shown the door straight away. For me I was called into my new line managers office and told that I was no longer needed but that they also were ending my contract sooner than intended. My things were collected from the office and I had to try and leave the building going through two other offices trying to avoid everyone after breaking into tears with the shock announcement. In some ways I saw it coming after I found a massive mistake made by one of the directors in terms of the departments budget on the Friday, and tried to get this highlighted as soon as possible to the right people to resolve this. This mistake was one made well before I was hired to manage a department after the previous Head of department stepped down and a new director starting above. I knew someone would have to be cut and it would probably be me but not till my contract was finished.

It turns out that all employers have to consult with you before they can make you redundant, rather than just show them the door and tell them to leave.

I was so upset because I never got to say good bye and some lazy arsed dick still has their job when they should have lot it back in December; instead I am shoved out the door after all my hard work and he stays to take the department further into debt.

But I have also found that even though I was made redundant, a role that is no longer needed, I was replaced by someone else as soon as they realised the new director couldn’t manage the department single handly like I had for the last 5 months. 

This temporary position has now it seems become permanent and I have had to move to Brighton after losing my job. 

It turns out that my role was needed, that they didn’t do it properly and now I have a crappy job, high stress and had to move out of my flat across the country to Brighton. Not only that but someone has their job even after doing things which else where would have been fired back in December, my predecessor was fired but given the grace of making it look like he found a job else where, while I suddenly disappeared off the map making it look like I had done something majorly wrong even though it was me that found someone elses mistake to get it corrected!

So what am I going to do? Probably nothing but after making me feel disgraced and upset I no longer am thinking of this place as well as I once did and could easily just blab about some rather damning facts about the “award winning” students’ union if anything else comes to light.

But for you, know your rights and check if you get shown the door and what to do. Know what your employer, prospective employer because if you don’t 4 months down the line you will find like me that you have been illegally screwed over by an organisation that aren’t as squeaky clean as you thought.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

