Because not everyone is Elite

So you are looking for the perfect gift for someone? Don’t know what to get? I think the more important question should be what not to get first!

As someone who has had her fair share of rubbish gifts I hopefully can give you a few ideas of what to avoid when finding a lovely girl a present!

  1. Don’t give just give money
    So you don’t know what to give and you need something really quick and easy! Whatever you do don’t give money as it shows no thought or feeling behind your present.Even when they have requested just money (say for a wedding, holiday, car or house), it is always nice to get something heartfelt too! It doesn’t have to cot much but it will make a difference! You could get some little accessory, cute stationary, or even just a little jar of hand picked pick and mix from the local sweet shop, but the added little thought will go the extra mile.
  2. Don’t ignore their wishlist
    This one seems really simple but people really do this! I have given a list of ideas, some being very cheap (I’m talking £2.50 in some cases) but these have often been ignored for stuff that I already have or don’t like because they thought they knew best.You can search for people’s wishlists these days on Amazon, Esty and Steam so there is no excuse to do a little hunting around! I am taking part in a gift exchange with Reddit once again but in the last one I was on sent me two things from my wishlist by my secret Santa which was amazing! If they can track down a stranger, it shouldn’t be too hard to look for someone you know.
  3. Don’t ignore an avoid or don’t want list
    This one may sound weird but my self and other people I know have written these in the past. These are written usually after people have had terrible experiences in the past and usually appears at the bottom of a wishlist.After having received 10 different milk chocolate (of which I have hated since I was 5) presents and sprays (of which I am highly allergic to) from the same person (my dad I should mention) didn’t go down well… nor did it the following years even with the “DON’T BUY ME” lists. In fact the response was “but Helen likes it”.

    If you ignore these lists and get something from these, even if it is a joke it can really make you look like a heartless idiot who doesn’t have a clue which leads on to…

  4. Don’t buy really hurtful or stupid joke presents
    This might work with your guy friends but girls generally want more loving gifts than jokey presents, especially if this is someone you love.I think the last time my dad brought my chocolate for Christmas it was intended as a joke after what he thought was over the top requests of no chocolate because I couldn’t enjoy it. He brought chocolate coins and quipped with “Maybe you can pay with them to get some thing nice” only to get a “Yes trade them for a thoughtful gift” and then a daughter not talking to him for the rest of the day. (Please note there was a history here and other aspects that made it worse).

    Girls don’t like being called fat, ugly or having their bad points pointed out as we are often striving for perfection…

  5. Don’t get the same thing every time
    So she likes a certain chocolate, flower or other thing… doesn’t mean she will want the same gift over and over again as that takes out all of the surprise. I know many people who get sick of chocolate as everyone buys them the same thing and end up with 10 Chocolate oranges sometimes to get through!Every year my mum gets my and my sister a random assortment of sweets and silly little gifts but they are never the same so while it is in the same vain, it is always exciting to see what random stuff she has found this time.
  6. Get something you want or someone else likes
    One of the biggest mistakes out there is this one, you should be thinking about your giftee and no one else. As previously mentioned I received presents I couldn’t eat and sprays I was allergic to because someone else they were gifting loved these. I even got orange shower gel (which I hate the smell of) because they were gifting the two of us together but only really buying for my cousin/step sister Helen.Many boyfriends have also made the big mistake of buying something that they want under the guise of giving it to their girlfriend. Your girlfriend will see through and you will just get in trouble! Not only that but because you gave it as a present, if things far apart she will get it not you!

    Many guys I know are always asking me what to get their girlfriends too, and while this seems like an incredible plan, it is not! While we all might seem to be into the same things, we all have our own tastes and interests and I am a prime example of this! I climb, video game and have an extensive Terry Pratchett collection compared to my sister who goes out clubbing, watches Sex in the City and reads 50 shades of Grey! There is only two exceptions, if they really are very similar in interests and taste or if they are very close friends with your giftee… then they may have discussed present ideas or might be able to find out secretly for you.

  7. Don’t just get the obvious
    Yes it is great to receive the item you really wanted but like with money it is nice to get a little thoughtful surprise with it too! It doesn’t even have to cost you much as one of the best presents I have had is a bunch of hand made paper roses!
  8. Don’t forget to wrap it
    Again one of the simple yet still forgotten rules, don’t forget to wrap it (or in most cases to buy the wrapping paper…)Some presents might be too big to wrap but there are always bows, blind folds and treasure hunts that can make it really feel fully thought through then “Close your eyes and put your hands out” can ever give.
  9. Don’t forget all the extras (aka batteries and accessories)
    Some presents might need batteries or other extras to make it fully functioning on the day you give it as there is nothing more annoying then getting a new gadget that you can’t use because something simple was forgotten! Don’t assume they will already have batteries! You can also make the gifting fun by giving the batteries first making them have to guess what they are for! And this leads nicely to our last point…
  10. Remember to have fun!
    Buying and giving presents should be fun and exciting! Years ago I brought my sister a lovely water feature during her Chi phase which needed batteries. knowing my sister she loves to open presents as soon as she can and always asks to open a present before lunch on Christmas, so I let her open one of her presents… the batteries! She couldn’t open anything else till the end of Lunch and ended up making the whole day memorable for everyone!I have also recently done a treasure hunt around a house with a pirate theme! It was a morning of silly sword fighting around the house and silly voices that we both got to enjoy!

    By having fun with themes, you can even give money in a fun way! My sister received about £100 once but it was remembered because the £20 notes were hidden and even wrapped around (with no selotape) little purple presents in a little purple box. When she figured out there was one and that it had all been purple to match the notes, you could see the glee and excitement in her face as she dove into find more notes.

As you can see, sometimes it is easier thinking about what not to do to get ideas and inspiration than trying to hunt for an idea out of the ethos.

I hope that helps and gives you a couple of great ideas!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

